Out now from HarperTeen/ HarperCollins


HarperCollins | IndieBound | Amazon | Barnes & Noble |  Books-A-Million | Book Depository | Target
Add on Goodreads

Read an exclusive excerpt from the midnights on Bustle.

This voice-driven coming-of-age YA novel is perfect for fans of Katie Cotugno and Playlist for the Dead.

Susannah Hayes has never been in the spotlight, but she dreams of following her father, a former rock star, onto the stage. As senior year begins, she’s more interested in composing impressive chord progressions than college essays, certain that if she writes the perfect song, her father might finally look up from the past long enough to see her.

But when he dies unexpectedly, her dreams—and her reality—shatter.

While Susannah struggles with grief, her mother uproots them to a new city. There, Susannah realizes she can reinvent herself however she wants: a confident singer-songwriter, member of a hip band, embraced by an effortlessly cool best friend. But Susannah is not the only one keeping secrets, and soon, harsh revelations threaten to unravel her life once again.

Set against the scintillating landscape of Southern California, The Midnights is an evocative coming-of-age debut about loss, creativity, and finding your voice while you’re still finding yourself.



“A stunning, beautifully-written debut, THE MIDNIGHTS explores the complex nature of loss, grief, secrets, and family, as we follow one girl on a poignant journey of self-discovery.”
—Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be

“THE MIDNIGHTS is a fiercely beautiful song of a book. This story wont leave your heart.”
—Jeff Zentner, Morris Award winning author of The Serpent King


“A thoughtful, literary first book. Fans of character-driven coming-of-age stories will find all they could want and more.”

An atmospheric voyage through grief and self-discovery perfect for fans of Julie Buxbaum’s Tell Me Three Things and Tim Federle’s The Great American Whatever.”
—School Library Journal

“Susannah’s first-person narration is punctuated with evocative descriptions of the Santa Anas and the wildfires they bring—characters in their own right.” “A touching... story about the painful process of moving on.”
—Kirkus Reviews


Listen to the official playlist for THE MIDNIGHTS on Spotify.


The 15 Best New YA Books Of March 2018 Will Make The Wait For Spring So Much More Tolerable, Bustle
10 of the Best Young Adult Books of March, Paste
33 of Our Most Anticipated March YA Novels, Barnes & Noble Teen Blog
8 Books that Remind Us of THIS IS US, PopSugar
8 Exciting Debut Novels to Kick Off the New Year, Brit + Co
The Gift That Keeps on Giving and Sorry, But You're Old, BookRiot's Hey YA Podcast
Brooklyn BookBeat, Brooklyn Daily Eagle
20 Books You Need to Read in 2018 Promotion, Book Riot
New Releases Roundup, Adventures in YA Publishing
5 Of The Best Young Adult Reads To Kick Off Spring, BuzzFeed
YA Reads to Take with You This Spring Break, Culturalist
8 Books to Read if You Can't Wait to Watch 'Love, Simon', Hypable

The Band that Vanished, and the Songs that Stayed,  GERM Magazine
Stories and Songs: How Music Helped Me Feel Less Alone, YA Interrobang
Love, Sex, and a Case for Not Finding 'The One', Pop! Goes The Reader
Nostalgia Won't Let You Down: Four Songs that Defined My Teenage Years, Fangirlish
In Support of YA Parents, She Writes
Susannah's Favorite Classic Rock Songs in THE MIDNIGHTS,



YA Books Central KidLit 411Tale Out Loud | The Reading Addict | Patricia Bailey's Blog | Author I Never | A New Look on Books | Tuesday Writers | Book Birthday Bash | The Debut Dish | Adventures in YA Publishing



Though my pre-order giveaway is now over, I'm still happy to send out some book swag as long as supplies last! Send me an email at for some fun swag (librarians and educators especially encouraged)!

MIDNIGHTS preorder 1.JPG