THE MIDNIGHTS
On shelves March 6, 2018 from HarperTeen/ HarperCollins

PRE-ORDER:

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | IndieBound |  Books-A-Million | Book Depository
Add on Goodreads

This voice-driven coming-of-age YA novel is perfect for fans of Katie Cotugno and Playlist for the Dead.

Susannah Hayes has never been in the spotlight, but she dreams of following her father, a former rock star, onto the stage. As senior year begins, she’s more interested in composing impressive chord progressions than college essays, certain that if she writes the perfect song, her father might finally look up from the past long enough to see her.

But when he dies unexpectedly, her dreams—and her reality—shatter.

While Susannah struggles with grief, her mother uproots them to a new city. There, Susannah realizes she can reinvent herself however she wants: a confident singer-songwriter, member of a hip band, embraced by an effortlessly cool best friend. But Susannah is not the only one keeping secrets, and soon, harsh revelations threaten to unravel her life once again.

Set against the scintillating landscape of Southern California, The Midnights is an evocative coming-of-age debut about loss, creativity, and finding your voice while you’re still finding yourself.

 

PRAISE FOR THE MIDNIGHTS

“A stunning, beautifully-written debut, THE MIDNIGHTS explores the complex nature of loss, grief, secrets, and family, as we follow one girl on a poignant journey of self-discovery.”
—Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be

“THE MIDNIGHTS is a fiercely beautiful song of a book. This story wont leave your heart.”
—Jeff Zentner, Morris Award winning author of The Serpent King

 

“A thoughtful, literary first book. Fans of character-driven coming-of-age stories will find all they could want and more.”
—Booklist

An atmospheric voyage through grief and self-discovery perfect for fans of Julie Buxbaum’s Tell Me Three Things and Tim Federle’s The Great American Whatever.”
—School Library Journal

“Susannah’s first-person narration is punctuated with evocative descriptions of the Santa Anas and the wildfires they bring—characters in their own right.” “A touching... story about the painful process of moving on.”
—Kirkus Reviews

 

BOOK PLAYLIST

Listen to the official playlist for THE MIDNIGHTS on Spotify.

 

MEDIA

8 books that remind us of This Is Us, PopSugar
8 Exciting Debut Novels to Kick Off the New Year, Brit + Co
The Gift That Keeps on Giving and Sorry, But You're Old, BookRiot's Hey YA Podcast
Brooklyn BookBeat, Brooklyn Daily Eagle

 

PRE-ORDER SWAG

Thrilled to announce that my pre-order giveaway is live! To learn more about what goodies you can win, head over to my official pre-order giveaway page. Here's a sneak peek.